The Coral Thief

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780297855910

Price: £8.99

Select a format:

Paperback
A powerful and gripping historical thriller for fans of The Essex Serpernt and The Miniaturist.

‘Original and evocative … a mesmerising thriller’ Daily Telegraph

‘Full of twists and turns’ Scotsman
‘An enthralling exploration of revolutionary science in post-revolutionary France’ Guardian

‘A book of penetrating humanity and a vivid evocation of Paris’ Financial Times

Paris, 1815. Daniel Connor, a young medical student from Edinburgh, has just arrived in Paris to study anatomy at the Jardin des Plantes – only to realise that his letters of introduction and a gift of precious coral specimens, on which his tenure depends, have been stolen by the beautiful woman with whom he shared a stagecoach.

In the fervour and tumult of post revolutionary Paris, nothing is quite as it seems. In trying to recover his lost valuables, Daniel discovers that his beautiful adversary is in fact a philosopher-thief who lives in a shadowy world of outlaws and émigrés. As Daniel embark on a passionate love affair with the Coral Thief, he is drawn to join her salon of thieves to execute one last breathtakingly bold robbery…