Under This Unbroken Sky

Commonwealth Writers' Prize Best First Book (Africa Region), 2010

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780297856610

Price: £8.99

Select a format:

Paperback
An epic tale for fans of Jane Smiley, Annie Proulx and John Steinbeck.

‘This stunning first novel is powerful, tragic and utterly gripping’ The Times
‘Epic in scope, beautifully pitched and unsentimental in execution. Brilliant’ Marie Claire
‘This tautly controlled epic should keep those in search of some holiday literary escapism hooked’ Metro

Spring, 1938. Teodor returns home after nearly two years spent in prison for the crime of trying to feed his children. Now, he and his family are determined not only to survive, but to build a better life for themselves.

But it is not just the unrelenting landscape that Teodor must fight against. His sister’s husband has an unforgivable plan that threatens to take everything away from them.

Nearly all is lost when a brother is pitted against a sister, and a mother against her child, with dramatic and heartbreaking consequences.