The Anniversary

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781474626132

Price: £16.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Tense, elegant, sensuous.’ Niamh Campbell, author of WE WERE YOUNG

‘In The Anniversary Stephanie Bishop expertly and mercilessly builds an atmosphere of intense uncertainty and threat. You won’t want to put it down.’
Chris Power, author of MOTHERS

‘The dread that slowly creeps into your bones while reading The Anniversary is difficult to shake off, yet you cannot look away. I revelled in every bit of this astute, compelling, psychological novel.’ Virginia Feito, author of MRS MARCH

‘Exquisite, profound, and utterly exhilarating: The Anniversary is a stunning achievement.’ Mark Brandi, author of WIMMERA

Novelist J.B. Blackwood is on a cruise with her husband, Patrick, to celebrate their wedding anniversary.
Her former professor, Patrick is much older than J.B.. But when they met, he seemed somehow ageless, as all new gods appear in the eyes of those who worship them. He is a film director. A cult figure. But now his success is starting to wane and J.B. is on the cusp of winning a major literary prize. Her art has been forever overseen by him, now it may overshadow his.
For days they sail in the sun. They lie about drinking, reading, sleeping, having sex. There is nothing but dark water all around them.
Then a storm hits and Patrick falls off the ship. J.B. is left alone, as the search for what happened to Patrick – and the truth about their marriage – begins.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Tense, elegant, sensuous.
Niamh Campbell, author of WE WERE YOUNG
The Anniversary is a disquieting, stunning book about marriage, art, power and creativity.
Anna Bonet, THE I PAPER
'The dread that slowly creeps into your bones while reading The Anniversary is difficult to shake off, yet you cannot look away. I revelled in every bit of this astute, compelling, psychological novel.
Virginia Feito, author of MRS MARCH
The Anniversary is a compulsive yet redemptive book layered with nuances that will have those new to Bishop's work hunting out her backlist.
Susie Mesure, FINANCIAL TIMES
Very addictive and so smart - a fever dream about a writer getting everything they want and living out all their nightmares at the same time
Rebecca May Johnson, author of SMALL FIRES
The dread that slowly creeps into your bones while reading The Anniversary is difficult to shake off, yet you cannot look away. I revelled in every bit of this astute, compelling, psychological novel.
Virginia Feito, author of MRS MARCH
Nothing in this exquisitely twisted tale is quite what it seems. But though the cool, sharp, disenchanted narrator is not to be trusted, one thing about her is for real - her ability to say things so witty and so pungently true I kept turning down pages to mark them. If I kept a commonplace book I would have filled it with lines from this compelling novel about creativity and its discontents
Lucy Hughes-Hallett, author of THE PIKE
Compelling and dark, a psychological thriller that makes you want to peel back the pages . . . The Anniversary lives up to the hype. For fans of Rachel Cusk and Siri Hustvedt
Books + Publishing
I absolutely loved THE ANNIVERSARY, with its very rare combination of elegance and tension. The dark yet subtle sense of foreboding draws you into the story so cleverly. Magnificent writing that is utterly compelling
Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP
In The Anniversary Stephanie Bishop expertly and mercilessly builds an atmosphere of intense uncertainty and threat. You won't want to put it down.
Chris Power, author of MOTHERS
Such a stylish, incisive novel, tight with suspense and powerful insight. I loved it and will be recommending it far and wide
Megan Hunter, author of THE END WE START FROM
With a unique style and descriptions so real you can feel the salt-spray drift from the page, The Anniversary draws you in. Addictive and dynamic.
Charlotte Roberts, HEAT MAGAZINE
It is intelligent and literary in the best sense of the word: fluent in style, self-aware in its deployment of genre... in the metaphysical reach of this book, the writer I kept thinking of was Iris Murdoch
Weekend Australian
The sense of foreboding increases as the narrative progresses and I found it impossible to put down. It's excellent on how a partner's resentment can grow until it explodes as if from nowhere. It's also wonderful on writing itself and how our protagonists both enable and block each other's process. I adored it.
Sara Lawrence, DAILY MAIL
Nothing in this exquisitely twisted tale is quite what it seems. But though the cool, sharp, disenchanted narrator is not to be trusted, one thing about her is for real - her ability to say things so witty and so pungently true I kept turning down pages to mark them. If I kept a commonplace book I would have filled it with lines from this compelling novel about creativity and its discontents
Lucy Hughes-Hallett, author of THE PIKE
Stephanie Bishop's novel The Anniversary is seductive, mysterious, and fiercely intelligent. Bishop peels back, with great insight and artistry, layer after layer of her character's psyche, laying bare the singular pleasures and secret resentments at the centre of any marriage, any life. This is a book to be savoured for its elegant sentences and psychological depth, but you'll be hard-pressed not to devour it in a few voracious sittings.
Sara Freeman, author of TIDES
The Anniversary is a haunting mystery, sophisticated, subtle and subversive. Bishop considers the discipline, scrupulous and otherwise, required to make a marriage, as well as to make art, capturing the longing and the disappointment inherent in the attempt to make one's self known to others.
Susanna Moore, author of IN THE CUT
Absolutely addictive. When reading The Anniversary, I found myself forgetting who I am or where I was. Only art that exudes brilliance can conjure this state
Szilvia Molnar, author of THE NURSERY
Exquisite, profound, and utterly exhilarating: The Anniversary is a stunning achievement.
Mark Brandi, author of WIMMERA
I absolutely loved The Anniversary, a literary thriller that is simultaneously addictive, compelling, and deeply clever
Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of EVERYONE IS STILL ALIVE
In The Anniversary Stephanie Bishop expertly and mercilessly builds an atmosphere of intense uncertainty and threat. You won't want to put it down.
Chris Power, author of MOTHERS
I very much enjoyed The Anniversary. It put me in mind of Gone Girl and of Fleishman Is in Trouble too. It nails so much about how ruthless a writer of fiction needs to be both in relation to life and material
Polly Samson, author of A THEATRE FOR DREAMERS
Stephanie Bishop's The Anniversary is literature at its very, very best - her talent shimmers off every single page, her prose is exquisite and her observations about the complexities and competitiveness of intimate relationships, the chaos of the human condition and the inexorable tension between love, family, creativity and art-making are second to none. This novel is an absolute triumph in every respect
Lucia Osborne-Crowley, author of MY BODY KEEPS YOUR SECRETS
Electrifying
Claire Lowdon, SUNDAY TIMES
Dangerously readable... If only all literary novels were this engaging and this perceptive about human nature.
Alexander Larman, THE OBSERVER
Tense, elegant, sensuous
Niamh Campbell, author of WE WERE YOUNG
Exquisite, profound, and utterly exhilarating: The Anniversary is a stunning achievement.
Mark Brandi, author of WIMMERA