Snowdon

Snowdon

‘The most sensational book on the Royal Family in recent times’ Sunday Telegraph
‘Offers a fascinating insight into not just his life but the social mores of the day’ Evening Standard


How did a photographer who was a relentless playboy, an unashamed womaniser and a leather-clad motorcyclist marry the Queen’s sister and become the Establishment figure Lord Snowdon? The brilliantly talented Antony Armstrong-Jones often humiliated Princess Margaret, yet he was compassionate to the causes he cared about. Since his death in 2017, Snowdon still hasn’t escaped the limelight, as more and more is revealed about his wild and intriguing life.

Written with exclusive access to Snowdon and the people closest to him, this book uncovers the real man and his times. Addressing the facts behind the myths – the secret courtship of Margaret, the love child born just weeks after the royal marriage, the affairs on both sides, the suicide of one mistress and the birth of an illegitimate son to another – this balanced yet no-holds-barred account of Snowdon’s life is essential reading for fans of The Crown and Ma’am Darling.
Read More

Genre: Biography & True Stories / Biography: General / Biography: Royalty

On Sale: 11th June 2009

Price: £10.99

ISBN-13: 9780753825877

Reviews

The most sensational book on the Royal Family in recent times
Sunday Telegraph
Offers a fascinating insight into not just his life but the social mores of the day
Evening Standard
An onslaught of revelation, a dizzyingly switchback ride of mixed emotions, pomp and sleaze ... very true to life
Duncan Fallowell, Daily Telegraph
[A] juicy biography ... it is impossible here to convey the combination of high society and low morals, of firghtfully good taste and awful cheese that de Courcy has managed to dish up
Observer
Step forward, Snowdon. You're nicked ... Full of eye-popping revelations
Mail on Sunday
Has anyone not slept with Lord Snowdon? The priapic Earl's multi-layered love life is the dominant theme of this chatty and penetrating biography, packed as it is with love affairs, love-children ... and love-struck mistresses, often several at one time ... Snowdon makes a glamorous, capricious, selfish and surprisingly philanthropic subject for this lively account of a man and his era
Daily Mail </i>Summer Reading<i>
[A] commendably unvarnished portrait of a charismatic, contradictory individual
Good Book Guide
How refreshing to read a biography in which the author is half in love with her subject. There are none of the usual patronising putdowns, envious backbiting or mean-spirited cavilling in Anne de Courcy's portrait of the Earl of Snowdon
Richard Davenport-Hines, Sunday Times