God's Children Are Little Broken Things

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781399606295

Price: £19.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Although he writes about queer lives and loves in Nigeria, Arinze Ifeakandu’s voice is sensually alert to the human and universal in every situation. A brilliant new talent’
DAMON GALGUT, Booker Prize winning author of The Promise

‘Contemporary love stories with moments of real surprise and revelation’
BRANDON TAYLOR, author of Real Life

Gorgeous… This is a hugely impressive collection, full of subtlety, wisdom and heart’
SARAH WATERS author of Fingersmith

‘Captures the tenderness and tumult of queer love, familial love, self-love, and the many ways love elates and eludes us…. What a glorious collection!’
DEESHA PHILYAW, author of The Secret Lives of Church Ladies

‘Magic in motion… A staggering, heartshattering show’
ELOGHOSA OSUNDE, author of Vagabonds!

‘Raw tender grace… A serious literary talent has emerged’
COLM TÓIBÍN, author of The Magician

‘Searching, unsparing, and contemplative… Quite simply a tour de force’
SARAH HALL, author of Burntcoat

These nine stories of queer male intimacy brim with simmering secrecy, ecstasy, loneliness and love in their depictions of what it means to be gay in contemporary Nigeria.
A man revisits the university campus where he lost his first love, aware now of what he couldn’t understand then. A daughter returns home to Lagos after the death of her father, forced to face her past – and future -relationship with his longtime partner. A young musician rises to fame at the risk of losing himself, and the man who loves him.
Generations collide, families break and are remade, languages and cultures intertwine, and lovers find their ways to futures; from childhood through adulthood; on university campuses, city centres, and neighbourhoods where church bells mingle with the morning call to prayer.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less