The Camel Bookmobile

The Camel Bookmobile

A superb novel of a travelling library, the Kenyan landscape – and the threat to a fragile way of life.
Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith

Deep in the heart of the dusty Kenyan desert a train of heavily laden camels wind their way slowly through the bush. The camels are not carrying grain or medical supplies, but books of every imaginable variety.

Into the remote nomadic settlement of Mididima comes an unexpected wealth of literature – tips for surviving an avalanche, the adventures of Tom Sawyer, vegetarian cookbooks – and all are eagerly devoured under the blazing Kenyan sunshine.

Volunteer Fi Sweeney, her heart filled with passion and possibilities, is surprised to discover that the project divides friends and neighbours. To Kanika, who reads every book she can lay her hands on, the Camel Bookmobile brings hope. But to some it represents the inevitable destruction of a fragile way of life …
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 9th January 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781474615754

Reviews

Captivating ... weaves memorable characters and elemental emotions in artful prose
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Hamilton vividly sketches the landscape of Africa ... the novel's greatest strength is in the way it puts forward a balanced argument about the significance of the written word, capturing its power to delight and liberate at the same time as acknowledging its limitations in a world where shelter and food are not certainties
NEW STATESMAN
A vivid, thought-provoking and uplifting novel
GOOD BOOK GUIDE
a book that will go straight to your heart
TELEGRAPH & ARGUS
Magical ... spellbinding ... broke my heart
Amanda Eyre Ward
I've always known books could change lives. Masha Hamilton has opened my eyes to how books can also change entire communities, and not always in the ways one might expect. THE CAMEL BOOKMOBILE is a brave and astonishing novel; it transported me to a world I hadn't known, and my life is all the richer for it
Gayle Brandeis
A vivid, thought-provoking and uplifting novel
GOOD BOOK GUIDE
A book that will go straight to your heart
TELEGRAPH & ARGUS
A warm and humorous novel, packed with bold characters, both human and animal
WATERSTONE'S QUARTERLY
A warm and humorous novel, packed with bold characters, both human and animal.
WATERSTONES BOOKS QUARTERLY
Vivid, absorbing ... Richly peopled, full of conflicts and surprises, THE CAMEL BOOKMOBILE made me think and feel in all the best ways. My only regret was that the book had to end
Margot Livesey