Exciting Times

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781474613484

Price: £19.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The book of the summer … Kept me rapt until the final pageTHE TIMES

A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it‘ David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY

More than lives up to the hype … Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers’ livesIRISH TIMES

Droll, shrewd and unafraid – a winning debut‘ Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL

I’ve been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan’s pithy observations of her characters are the best I’ve read since Edward St AubynOBSERVER

A frankly sensational book‘ Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW

In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron … I found myself purring with pleasure. …This is comic writing at the highest level’ Craig Brown, DAILY MAIL

When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents’ money, it’s called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she’s not sure what to call it, but it involves:

– a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children;
– Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room;
– Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks;
– money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections.

Exciting times ensue.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less